Subscription renewal and billing cycles
It may happen that you would like to upgrade before the end of your current billing period. You can easily do this without losing a cent. Below you will find how we will calculate your fees at the upgrade, and how it affects your billing cycle at different payment methods.
If you’re using Paypal, your billing cycle will reset automatically and you will get a prorated amount based on the time left from the old subscription.
For example, let's say you want to upgrade from monthly Lite plan to monthly Pro Plan on the 20th day of your current subscription.
As the Lite plan costs $16 for a month, it costs $10.66 for 20 days. So, the remaining amount for this month is $5.34. This sum will be deducted from your new Pro Plan's price and you will be charged only $22.66 instead of the full price of $28 (in the first month).
The billing date becomes the 20th day of the old subscription (the day you create your new subscription) and you will be billed again on the same day next month.
If you’re paying with your credit card, there are two possible cases presented below.
- Your billing cycle will remain unchanged if you want to upgrade from Lite annual to Pro annual, or from Lite monthly to Pro monthly. In this case you will pay only the difference for the remaining period.
Getting back to the example above, if you upgrade to Pro on day 20, you used $10.66 of your Plan of $16. The remaining $5.34 will be deducted from the price of the next 10 days at Pro Plan (which is $28 / 3 = $9.33). This means that you will pay $3.99 for the remaining 10 days. When you reach the billing date of your original subscription in the next month, you'll be charged the usual $28.
- If you want to upgrade from a monthly to a yearly plan, your billing cycle will change.
Referring to the examples above, let’s say again that you want to upgrade on day 20 from Lite monthly to Pro annual. You used $10.66 of your monthly paid plan and the remaining $5.34 will be deducted from $240, the annual plan’s price.
The new billing date will become the current date (which is the 20th day of your original subscription), so you will be billed again next year on the same day of the month.
If the automatic charge fails on the due date, you will have access only to our free plan until the payment is successful.
- Paypal will try to charge you on day 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and then on day 11 and day 21. If the charge attempt still fails on day 21, your subscription will be canceled.
- At card payment, there will be 4 attempts to charge you, including the days 1 and 21. If the charge attempt still fails on day 21, your subscription will be canceled.
Regardless of your payment methods, the billing cycle won’t change depending on the successful charge attempt.
Paying dues manually
If you pay your dues manually after the due date, your billing cycle will reset and you won’t be charged for the period when the subscription was in Past Due state.